Day 17. January 17, 2013-Win the St. Jude’s happy hour contest

As you may or may not know I am part of a triathlon team raising money for St. Jude’s children’s and research hospital.  The race is in April and as part of the fund raising efforts there are happy hours so people can come together and socialize and raise money at the same time.  There is a friendly competition that which ever team has the most people show up for these happy hours at the end of the season gets a party.  Well I am a little competitive so I think we need to win this thing.  Shoot who doesn’t want a free party.  In total there are maybe 5 happy hours.  Our team Alien Endurance/Trijungle kicked butt on the first one.  We slacked off on the second one and today we were head to head with Fedex.  Today I think they ended up with one more person than us.

Today was about motivating people to show up.  I was emailing, sending messages on Facebook and calling people.  A lot of people showed up.  It was awesome.  We did good.  Then I ran into a Fedex employee who said to me and I quote ” this a Fedex event and I do not see any Fedex employees”.  I was like really Fedex made their employees show up and they have no idea what this event is for.    This guy really had no idea why he was there.  That is really sad.  This is about the kids.  You would think that if you are going to force your employees to an event you would tell them why.

In the end all the money is for St. Jude’s so its all good and I am glad they came.  But at the end of the day you will raise more money if the people feel the charity and get behind it.  Well I can say that I am very proud of my team.  They all showed up and even brought friends.  I know one is joining our team tonight.  So that is awesome.  My team Alien Endurance/Trijungle is killing it.  The best part is that tonight we were talking about how we can raise more money.  Do we do bake sales, parties ect.   My team came because they want to raise money.  This is why I love my team.  This is why I am doing this.

What I learned today is that I am surrounded by good people.  And with that you can conquer anything.

4 thoughts on “Day 17. January 17, 2013-Win the St. Jude’s happy hour contest

  1. Dear Espe,

    I can assure you that Team FedEx is very well aware of the mission of St. Jude Children’s Cancer Research Hospital. FedEx and St. Jude as you are likely aware share the same city for their respective headquarters which is Memphis, TN. For many years FedEx has stood arm in arm and supported the mission of the hospital. As a matter of fact, I believe Maria Quesada has mentioned, that FedEx provides free in kind shipping to St. Jude. I for one can tell you my team and I love St. Jude and what St. Jude does every day to save kids lives and help find a cure for this terrible disease.

    In Miami, this mission hit home recently as our previous team captain’s son developed cancer. I can tell you that this personal event has led a lot of us, including myself (a father of two) to really step it up for the kids of St. Jude. As current captain of this year’s team I can attest to all communications going out about this event always mentioning the hospital and the mission of St. Judes. In FedEx, thankfully, you don’t need to “sell” anyone on what St. Jude does. We all love St. Jude. I would also like to attest to you and anyone reading this post that we do our best to make sure we (myself and my team co-captains) always present St. Jude fundraising events as completely voluntary as part of our ongoing Community Relations Board activities (a completely voluntary board of employees). I can for certain also tell you that Thursday’s event at Tarpon Bend, was not presented as a “must attend type of company event”. All those invited were either current or past Nautica Triathlon participants and anyone in the FedEx Miami area who wanted to come out, of their own volition, and support St. Jude and the kids of St. Jude.

    I can’t really understand how you may have encountered someone who described themselves as a FedEx employee and a) thought we “made” them show up and b) didn’t see any other FedEx employees. No communication said people had to attend and we had at least 30 employees from the corporate and airport offices in attendance (of which I think I personally knew 90% of them). I’m saddened and troubled to hear that this was a response from someone you encountered at the event.

    I think all of our hearts are in the right place when it comes to St. Jude and what we are all trying to do which is raise as much money as possible for the kids of St. Jude. That mission is crystal clear for me and my co-captains and if it isn’t to anyone, this should be made very clear by all corporate challenge teams. I promise as team captain to continue to do my best to continue to make sure that all our participants know why we are doing this. I think you guys have an amazing team and I hope we all succeed in our goals. If we all succeed, then the kids win and that’s what it’s all about.

    Best regards,
    Robert

  2. Dear Espe,

    I want to assure you that Team FedEx Nautica Triathlon is whole heartedly aware of the great cause and mission to save kids’ lives that St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital represents. We completely support this cause and many of our employees, such as myself; have a strong passion for supporting St. Jude. Not sure if you are aware, but FedEx and St. Jude share a lot in common as our headquarters are both in Memphis, TN. Naturally, over the years our relationship with St. Jude has been very strong and many of my colleagues and friends are year round contributors to St. Jude. The mission of St. Jude hit home at Team FedEx Nautica Triathlon recently as our one of the key members of our team’s son unfortunately is dealing with this horrible disease. I can tell you that this was a huge personal wake up call for all of us as the father of two young children.

    I am saddened and concerned that you encountered someone who presented themself as an employee of this great company and this person indicated they didn’t know why we were all there (which of course was to fundraise and support St. Jude). I believe we had around 30 people sign up as supporting Team FedEx last night and I believe I knew most of them so I’m surprised by your post. That being said, we have hundreds of employees in the South Florida area, so I guess it’s possible that an employee was at this public venue unaware of the specific event supporting St. Jude and the Nautica Triathlon team. Did you happen to get the name of this person? Please let me know if you have that information.

    I can assure you that we did not tell anyone that this was a required company event; that would go completely against the nature of our Community Relations Board which is completely voluntary. All my communications as Team Captain regarding fundraising events, such as this one at Tarpon Bend, always mention that the activity is to benefit St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. Again, my apologies if anyone from FedEx misrepresented our goal and reason for being there to fundraise for St. Jude.

    In the end, I know both of our team’s collective hearts are all in the right place trying as hard as we can to raise as much money for St. Jude as possible. Your team is doing a great job and we hope to as well. If we both succeed in our efforts, and I’m sure we will, the hospital and the kids benefit and that’s what this is all about.

    Best regards,
    Robert Rodriguez

    P.s. I posted a reply earlier today, but I don’t think it was saved on this blog. My apologies if you received 2 posts.

    • LEt me try this again–this is my 3rd attempt but these reply’s keep disappearing.

      Robert–I know your team is doing awesome. I know may people on your team and I know they are passionate about St. Jude’s. Who isn’t, it is such a great place.

      There was a great turnout that night and it was great to see, I know had many conversations about how we could raise money. I heard people sharing ideas. The more people we can get the better. I do not who that individual was and I have never seen them before and no I did not get their name. I did tell them that half of the people there were from Fedex. They acted surprised.

      HEre is to raising more money than last year. you guys have a great start already.

Leave a Reply

