Day 18. January 18, 2013-Design home office space

The weekend is coming up and I thought it would be a good time get the office set up.  I am planning on turning what is now the bike storage room into my office.  It is a great room but just in need of some organizing.  The container store is having its yearly Elfa Shelves on sale until mid February so I though this is a perfect time to do this.

I had to take care of some things today at the office and wanted to at least measure the room so I could put it on CADD when I was at the office.  Well after searching for about an hour I could not find any of the measuring tapes.  I know for a fact that we have at least five of them if not more.  So I just gave up and went on to do what I had to do.

So after happy hour I got home and started looking again.  I figured one of the tapes would appear.  Nope, not the case.  I really wanted to get this room designed so I could go to The Container Store tomorrow and buy what I needed.  Without the tape measure there was not much I could do but I had to get this done today since it was my task for today.  Given that I am creative I moved a few things around and then used some string to measure out the size of the table I wanted to use and made sure it fit how I thought it might.  Then I drew a sketch to get an idea of what I might need.  Now really all I need to do is do the final measure and head on over to the store.  Here is my sketch.

Image

Quick Sketch

Today I learned that there is a reason why Steve buys a tape measure every time we do a job around the house.  The damn things disappear.  I cannot even blame him since he’s gone.  I am absolutely sure I will get back from Ace Hardware with a new tape measure and all the ones we own will appear.  I better keep my receipt.  I can’t wait to get this done.

 

Note:  Steve if you read this can you comment on where the tape measures are?

One thought on “Day 18. January 18, 2013-Design home office space

Leave a Reply

