Day 24. January 24, 2013-Ironing why?????????

This morning I woke up and decided I needed to do something with the pile of clothes I had on my dining room table.  Everyday since last week I kept saying I am going to iron today.  Never happened.  I was avoiding it like the plague.  It has been so long since I have ironed I just couldn’t deal with the task at hand.

I gave up my cleaning lady at the beginning of the year in order to cut expenses since I wasn’t going to be earning any money this month.  I thought I needed to sacrifice some things so I didn’t get into my savings.  It really is worth it once you get into a routine. I am still working on the routine but I am confident I will get there.  

I started at 10:00am and ironed without stopping until 1:30pm.  I was so happy I had finished this horrible task when I turned around a saw another bag full of linens that I used for the new years eve party.  I like using cloth napkins when people come over.  It is so much nicer than paper napkins and plus its better for the environment.  I had to go so I could not finish right then.  When I got home first thing I did was turn the iron on so I could get started right away.  Linens are easy to iron and I was glad that I finished with them.  The harder stuff was already done.

I love that I finished and before 8:00pm.  Of course the only problem is that this is an ongoing thing.  Now that I am all caught up I am going to see if I can keep it up.  Today, in addition to the ironing, I tackled 3 loads of laundry.  The good thing is that most of that does not require ironing.  Of course not it was all sitting on the table so I was not able to wear it (gotta love the positive side of things). I think the trick is to figure out a way to balance the non iron clothes with the iron clothes so it never gets overwhelming.  I think a wardrobe cleanse is in my near future.  I am very excited about that.  I have been wanting to simplify my wardrobe for a very long time.

What I learned today is that damn I have a lot of cargo shorts with a million pockets that are hard to iron.  I definitely need to space wearing those out a bit more.  I also realized that when I started earning money and was able to afford a cleaning lady I became very lazy about house keeping.  When I could not afford it I used to do it and never had any problems with it.  In fact my house was spotless.  With the help it was never spotless.  This realization motivates me.  Not only can I save money but really I can clean better than any person that I have hired.  I just need some practice on the ironing.   I am going to take that money and put it into a separate account and treat myself to something nice at the end of the year.

I am happy about what I learned today.

Leave a Reply

