Day 71. March 14, 2013-Yeah I missed a day

So I didn’t make a post yesterday.  Yesterday was about the St. Jude’s last happy hour before the race so I got home late.  As you know I was trying so hard to win the party for our team but it just didn’t happen.  I was really bummed out but as Maria said, it is hard to compete with such a large corporation and she reminded me that as long as we are in the top 5 fundraising teams she is taking me to Memphis for the hospital tour.  I remember last year I wanted that privilege so bad but didn’t make it.  I believe she changed the parameters this year so I could go.  So I am ok with not winning the party.  The best part about yesterday was that I had posted a message that if any of my Facebook friends were in the Brickell area they should stop by the Blue Martini. I got a message from my cousin Jason.  I haven’t seen him in 25 years.  He said I am walking in to the Blue martini right now.  I couldn’t believe it.  It was great to see him.

Today was all about making it to Trijungle and getting some work done.  I have been so busy I haven’t made it by.  Holy cow.  It took all afternoon just to get it all organized.  Now I am ready to input the invoices into the accounting system.  I have a stack that is about 3 inches think.  Its gonna take some time.  I think it is time to clone myself.

What I learned yesterday and today has nothing to do with my latest tasks (well sort of).  It is more about people and how just because I am excited about raising money for St. Jude’s they get excited as well.  I got the most incredible message yesterday from one of my team mates.

“Thank you for making me part of this great race to raise money for a great cause. I’ve always wanted to make a difference and today I was amazed at how I was able to do so. I hit my $1,000 goal in less than four hours. I just pushed it up to $1200…. thanks again.”

Leave a Reply

