Day 80. March 23, 2013-Pictures and more pictures

Today there were a few things going on like an egg hunt at Trijungle and getting some drawings finished for a project.  But my task for the day was to get pictures and slides ready to send off to scan.  A colleague of mine told me about Scancafe where you send your pictures and they scan and send back to you at a pretty decent price.  You have several options and if you buy a package it really is cheap.  Go to http://www.scancafe.com and check out this really cool company.

This is a big job as I am a picture freak and always have been.  I have tons of pictures and just as many slides.  I decided to buy a package so I need to figure out the number of pictures I will be sending.  I started with the pictures I had in boxes.  They were divided by places and labeled.  As I was counting I threw out pictures that were not that great.  I then put them into baggies and labeled them with the amount of pictures. That was going pretty good but then I started running into cute pictures and I started remembering things.  So then I was like ok, I’ll take a picture of this and text it or put it on Facebook.  It will only take a minute.  Well that ended up taking longer because people started texting back and then it turned into a conversation and well I am sure you can just imagine how my project came to a almost a complete stop.

Here are a few pictures that I found.

IMG_0765

Me, Ana and Debbie in the keys

IMG_0763

Lena and Autumn at 1st family reunion

IMG_0759

Carlos (holding Michael), Lena, Gonzo, Cheryl and Autumn at 1st family reunion

IMG_0761

John Michael and Tia Tota at 1st family renion

IMG_0760

Ana Maria and Tia Tota at 1st family reunion

IMG_0762

Tony and Autumn at 1st family reunion

IMG_0764

Stacy, Mary, Mel and me at some high school party

 

I then moved on to my slides.  I have slides that were in sleeves and some that were in little boxes.  I imagine the ones in the sleeves were the ones I had in carousels.  Those would have been my best slides.  It has been so long since I have looked at these that I can not remember why I had some in boxes.  I even had boxes labeled duds.  I am completely mystified as why I would keep slides that I once deemed duds.  Not knowing for sure I had to check them.  This took awhile since I had to compare with the ones in the sleeves.  I ended up staring a stack of I am not sure what to do with these.  I guess I will determine that when I get a final count for my package.  CRAZY I know.

I did not finish this task today but I made really good progress.  I will finish up the slides and then send this pile off.  I will then deal with the photo albums.  They are not in my way at the moment.  I will send them off when they are.

What I learned today is that it is really fun to look at pictures and run into old memories. A perfect example is the picture of my girlfriends and me.  I would never had remembered that party had I not seen the picture.  Once I saw the picture I remember it.  I even remember the shoes I was wearing all though you can’t see them in this picture.  Another example is the picture with Ana (my sister) and Debbie (my cousin).  We had gotten in a text conversation after I sent her the picture and she said she had not remembered how much time we had spent together as kids.  I can not wait to get all of the pictures scanned.  I can then do slideshows and have them running on my computer.  It will be fun to run into old memories at random times.  I can’t wait to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

