Day 100. April 12, 2013-Applying for a job

Today I had several things to do and one was to apply for the fundraising job at St Jude Children’s Hospital.  So I sat down to create a resume that would help me get this job.  I had to basically start from scratch as my resume is all about landscape architecture.  It has been about 27 years since I had to start from scratch so it was a little slow.

I started writing and I realized it was too much.  I needed to narrow it down and stick to the specifics.  I was working through it and then it was ok what is my objective.  I decided to look at the ad for inspiration.  But when I went back to look at the ad the job was gone.  I was so disappointed.  I should not have taken so long but I had to make sure my resume was great.  You know first impressions.

What I learned today is that when you see the opportunity you have to jump at it.  I usually do but I would say fear got in my way on this one.  I knew several days ago that I wanted this job.  I blogged about it.  It was like I was frozen when it came to creating the resume.  I am really upset at myself.  I should have made it a priority and I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

