Day 198 and 199. July 19 and 20, 2013-Started class and some more soul searching

First I want to say OMG tomorrow is day 200.  I can not believe I stuck to this for this many days.  I am very proud of myself.  I do not normally pat myself on the back but what the heck right.

So the last 2 days have been about starting my online class.  There was some printing to do and that took forever but I got it done and organized in a binder.  I also went online and finally figured out how to get to the videos and lectures.  I’ll have to say for a social media course the website for the course is not that user friendly.  Hmm I just had a thought.  Maybe that is part of the lesson.  I am going with that.  I also started reading the material.  It is like Chinese to me.  There are a lot of acronyms.  I do not like acronyms.  You have no idea how long it took me to catch on to OMG and LOL.  I am thinking this is going to take a little longer than I once thought.  

Besides starting the class I seriously started looking at what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, some soul searching.  I love my job as a Landscape Architect but things haven’t been that great for several years and this year has really been tough.  I am consulting and woking on an hourly basis, when needed, with the company that I have basically been with for 18 years.  It was a good solution to not completely losing my job.  There is work out there but I am just not motivated to go anywhere else.  Recently I have beed disillusioned with my profession in South Florida.  It seems to me that there are so many opportunities to do something great but we always get knocked down.  Between the public officials, the codes or the people interpreting the codes it is almost impossible to do anything outside of the box.  When I visit other cities that are progressive in their thinking it just makes me feel worse.  So it has got me thinking about what I want to do.

So today I started looking for job opportunities.  My friends keep telling me I would be so good at philanthropy.  At  first I thought about it in the fundraising side because I enjoy that.  But after many hours of researching I came up with what might be better is assisting a philanthropist.  Really what I like is helping people.  If I won the lottery I would do that. I would start some type of organization to help people.

So I started looking at all sorts of jobs.  There are plenty out there and they pay well.  What I realized is that I need to add some skills to go after some of these jobs.  Now given everything that I have been up to this month is perfect because those are the kind of skills that are required.  One of the jobs was for a couple who were authors and philanthropists.  Really a job possibility with authors after declaring that I want to get into writing.  Freaky.  Another job was requiring social media skills.  Again freaky.  But here is the best part.  These jobs are in NYC.  I just told my cousin I wanted to move there and I was going to start looking for a job.

What I learned today is that when you think outside the box there are wonderful things waiting for you.  I also reconfirmed that when you declare something it will show up.  Those jobs and there were a lot of them are there for my taking.  I just need to let go of my doubts and go for it.  Seriously some of the descriptions almost had my name on it. One of the jobs was for the Conservatory at Central Park.  Really, I could use all my skills including Landscape Architecture.

Leave a Reply

