Day 209-215. July 29 -August 4, 2013 Crazy week

This past week was about waking up early and going to bed late and being completely busy the entire time.  I seriously do not know how I managed.  Well I managed because I didn’t work out which is not good.

So Monday I went into the office to work since Aida was on vacation and it seemed easier to use her computer.  I was wrong.  It was horrible.  2-1/2 hours into the day I finally got off the phone with the IT guy and was able to access everything I needed.  After that it was all good.

I had a crazy deadline with my high maintenance client and they were relentless.  At some point during the week I sent an email to say that I was about to have a nervous breakdown and to leave me alone so I could finish.  I ended up avoiding every phone call.  It was horrible.

I was also helping the office out with another project.  I was mostly helping out with technical Autocadd stuff because the drawings were not set up to our office CADD standards and poor TJ was struggling.  We got it out just in time even though it was painful.  Thank God Jennie was able to help.

Like always when Aida goes out of town all projects that are hibernating come alive.  This time was no different.  I swear I walked in the office on Tuesday and every call that came in was for me.  Mind you I work from home and all my people know that so I have no idea what happened that day.  It was hilarious.  I don’t even remember all the little things that I needed to take care of but it all got done.  That explains the late nights.

The best part this week was the substantial completion inspection for my project in Palm Beach.  It’s an elementary school and it will be the first Platinum LEED school in South Florida.  I personally did not think it was going to be ready since I had just been up there and they had a lot to do.  I almost cried when I pulled up.  It was not only finished but it looked fantastic.  My original vision was alive.  It has been a few years since I had such a big project in construction so I was excited and inspired.  A few photos. 1. Royal Palm Grove 2. Peanut Grass in lieu of grass 3. The river with recycled boulders from the site

IMG_1456 IMG_1455 IMG_1451

Because of this project inspiring me I was able to knock out what I needed to for my high maintenance client.  It did require late night emails back and forth but in the end the work got done and there was some humor in the exchanges.

On Wednesday my Mom called that our cousin from Cuba was here and so were 2 of her kids and invited me to dinner on Thursday.  I rearranged everything for that dinner.    We had a fabulous time and it was great to hang with the family.  Here we are acting silly.

IMG_1460 IMG_1466IMG_1465 IMG_1464 IMG_1463

Because of that I was up late again finishing up drawings before heading up to Sunny Isles the next morning for a site meeting.  I love the site meetings.  First we get stuff done.  Second you get to see things that make you think why did I do that and it gives you the opportunity to fix it.  Third if you have a funny contractor you get to laugh and laugh I did.  The general contractor just truly cracks me up.  So that pretty much sums up the week.

So since I have been so busy I needed to tackle the house.  I got up on Saturday Day 214 and started organizing.  My sister Elena let me borrow a CD called Getting Things Done.  It’s David Allen’s approach to being organized.  I popped the CD in and listened while I worked.  It was really good.  After I got things picked up I sat down and implemented some of what I had learned so far.  I have a long way to go but I did start.  I was up late again but it was well worth it.  I made a lot of progress.

On Sunday or day 215 I slept in.  I needed to catch up after my crazy week.  My only plan for today was to get an oil can for the coconut oil I bought and to make some bread.  So I took off to Home Goods to look for the can.  Big mistake.  I came home with everything but the oil can.  Love what I got but it was not on my schedule.

IMG_1493

Today’s damage

So a little history on why I have coconut oil.  Last week I bought a wok and I needed to season it.  The instructions say I need vegetable oil.  I don’t have any since I only  I use olive oil and have been doing that for like 20 years.  I posted on Facebook about how I didn’t have vegetable oil.  I got a response from a friend (she is actually the wife of a guy I went to high school with but we met a few months ago and she is great and very knowledgable about what food you should put in your body).  She explained all sorts of stuff but what I came out of this is that for high heat cooking you need coconut oil or organic butter or ghee.  Wok cooking is completely high heat.  She sent me a link to Tropical Traditions so I ordered some coconut oil.  That was Sunday.  My sister Elena ended up going to dinner and we stopped at Winn Dixie.  I was shocked to find coconut oil there so I bought some because I wanted to season my wok.  So When I got home I did season my wok and it is all ready to be used.

IMG_1440 IMG_1439

I asked Karen for some recipes for the wok.  I am a bit intimidated by the wok since it cooks so fast.  She sent me to thespicehouse.com to buy spices which I have done.  OMG I can not wait.

So I finally did make the bread.  I have been wanting to try the Einkorn flour that I bought awhile ago.  The flour is made from wheat that had not been modified and the source is 10,000 years old.  Carola, one of my team mates, told me about it and I told her I would make the bread but this was a few months ago.  Let me tell you that this bread is delicious.  I also used butter instead of oil.  I was ready to jump in the oven it smelled so good.  Worth the wait is all I can say.  The pictures throughout the process.

IMG_1480IMG_1496

What I learned this week is crazy.  Here we go:

  1. I can make grumpy clients laugh.
  2. They can make me laugh back.
  3. They can also send me a photo that puts a smile on my face.
  4. It is ok to eat butter.  In fact it is better than oil as long as it is grass fed organic. (I am super happy about that)
  5. I have awesome cousins.
  6. My Mom is so cool.  (well I knew that already but she just keeps reminding me of it)
  7. Elena can actually change a plan.  (inside joke sorry)
  8. Home made bread is better.
  9. Don’t go to Home Goods if you are not prepared to buy everything else but what you wanted.
  10. I miss my trainer/coach/friend (I haven’t seen him in 2 months).
  11. and a few more things I am sure.

2 thoughts on “Day 209-215. July 29 -August 4, 2013 Crazy week

Leave a Reply

