Week ten. March 3-9, 2014-Crash and burn

What goes up must come down is how the saying goes and well that is exactly what happened this week.

It was sort of a hectic week in the sense that I was having minor surgery (nothing serious but required) done on Wednesday and I knew I was not going to be able to do some of my workouts.  So I shifted the schedule and doubled up earlier in the week.  It all seemed fine until Wednesday when I basically crashed at the doctor’s office.  He gave me an earful, told me I was crazy but understood why I was tackling an ironman.  He also said if I was going to do this thing I needed to get my act together.

Looking back at it now it really was not all about the doubling up on the training it also had to do with eating.  First on Tuesday I had a design review board meeting that I thought would take no more than 30 minutes.  The projects in front of us were already preliminarily approved so it should have been a formality.  So I went to my swim workout then told Andy I could do the entire weight training session and then just run in and be home early enough to get some food.  I was totally wrong.  It took 3 hours.  It was awful.  When I got home it was hard to even make a decision of what to eat.  I am not good with nutrition if I get that hungry.  I usually end up skipping the meal.  Not a good idea.  I ended up eating something like at 4pm.  I then had a dinner meeting, which meant not enough food and too much wine.

Since I was doubling up my workouts Wednesday morning I swam and then did my bike workout before I headed to the doctors appointment.  That really does explain why I crashed at the appointment.  I went home took a nap and did feel a little better but I had plans to got to dinner with my friend Sue.  When we get together it is dangerous.  Before the night ended I was like ok Sue this is it.  I cannot do this anymore until the race is over.  She did not like that but really it was the first time that I thought ‘yes it is time to say bye to my friends’.  It is a necessary evil if you are doing an ironman.  I always thought I could do it and not give up my friends but I can’t.  Sorry friends.  I will be back in July.

When Thursday rolled around I was super tired when I got a call from Steve to wish me a happy anniversary.  It’s our 15th and once again we celebrate separately.  Since I was having issues with my food intake I decided I need to just make some meals up for the weekend.  I put a stew in the crockpot, chicken and rice in the rice cooker and some beans on the stove.  Everything was working out just fine until the power went out.  Great as soon as I put all this food on the damn power goes out.  Three hours later the power is back on and my food is now cooking.

photo

My sister Elena had called to see if I wanted to have dinner so I wouldn’t spend my anniversary alone. Her and my mom were inviting me so I said yes.  I had a great time but it is now the third night in a row that I am out eating and drinking.  It was starting to hurt.  I have never felt that before.  When I got home I went to bed and slept and slept and slept.  Friday I never even got out of my pajamas.

It was time for the weekend workouts.  Two hour run on Saturday and a four-hour ride on Saturday.  Maybe because I slept so much on Friday the workouts seemed fine on the weekend.  Well except for the fact that I was freaking about riding in the dark.

Sunday’s ride was great.  I mostly kept up with the group.  I could have done more but I was in zone 4 and I was supposed to be in zone 2 so I slowed down some.  On the way back it occurred to me that my heart rate could have been affected by the new supplements my doctor prescribed.  I mean I felt fine so when I got home I texted him.  This was his response:

Dr Lee response

I just have to say, I love my doctor.  He responds on a Sunday.  It was good to know that it was the supplements and not me that had my heart rate so high.  That means I killed the ride today.

This week I only managed 77% of training time.  This is the worst week I have had since I started.  Not surprising.

  • Planned workout duration:  15:5
  • Actual workout duration: 12:11

What I learned this week is that I am not a super human.  I have to give some stuff up in order to get to where I am gong.  It is hard but I have to do it.

This weeks quote is about keeping going even though you crashed and burned.

“One of the most common causes of failure is the habit of quitting when one is overtaken by temporary defeat.”– Napoleon Hill

Leave a Reply

