Week twenty-four and twenty-five. June 9-22, 2014- Last big workout, taper and naps lots of naps

Week 24 was all about getting through the last big workout.  3 hour on the bike to be followed by an hour run.  Kristin and I wanted to do the CDA course on the computrainer so we scheduled it with Andreas and we were set for 11:00 time.  Since the session was fro 3 hours we met early to get the other 3 hours on the road.  We followed with the run and the worst was done.

The next day we followed up with a 2.5 hour run and a what was supposed to be 1 hour and 10 minute swim.  Liz joined us in the morning.  The run went great and we were all pretty happy with our results.  As we headed in the water we noticed tons of sea urchins and given how many of us have stepped on these and  some even having surgery to get them out we were a little slow getting in.  The current was also very strong which meant the way back was going to be tough.  We swam a couple of buoys and by this point I was over the whole thing. I put my foot down and said lets go back.  This is ridiculous.  Liz and Kristin caved in to me.  I was happy I did not have to use the I am old to be your mother and you need to listen to me strategy.

It felt so good to be done with the big workouts.

Week 25 started our tapering part of our training.  We have been waiting for this for quite some time so we were all very excited.  The workouts were short but we had something everyday.

It was really strange to be doing 30 minute workouts or 1 hour ones but thats what tapering is all about.  This week I also experienced extreme tiredness.  Every afternoon I felt like I couldn’t keep my eyes open so I would lay down for 5 minutes which really ended up being 3-4 hours and only because I forced my self to get up.  After about 3 days of this I was getting worried.  I texted Andy and he told me it was normal and that I was lucky that I could actually take the naps.  So I kept up with the naps.  I was sleeping like 12-13 hours a day.  Then all of a sudden on Saturday I woke up refreshed.  When I got to Key Biscayne for our workout it seemed everyone else was feeling the same.  Tapering was working.

Sunday was a 2.5 hour ride.  I decided to do it on my hybrid.  That  bike has not been used since I started training.  OMG the entire time I was riding I was wishing I had my road bike.  2.5 hours on the hybrid was like 4 on the road bike.  It was tough to run after that.  Again thank god it was just 30 minutes.

This week we all had to take our bikes in for transportation to Coeur d Alene.  This meant we needed to go use a spin bike for our training.  Monday morning I met Eduardo and University of Miami and took a spinning class that Liz was teaching.  It was fun and the first session without our bikes was done.

This week I also wanted to make sure I had everything I needed for the trip so I checked and rechecked my lists.  You would have thought I had gone mad.  I packed and repacked 3 times but I did manage to get everything I needed.  My race day gear bag was actually bigger than my clothes one.

Given that I am now about 3 days away from the race I had decided to add up all my stats just for shits and giggles.  And this is what I came up with:

planned  actual

What I learned these past 2 weeks is to trust the training process especially the tapering.  I never knew I could get that tired and actually listening to my body was the best thing I could have done.  I also learned that I could get used to the naps.  Hell I want one now.

Quote for the week:

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step” -Lao Tau

I thought this was such an appropriate quote seeing that this journey has taken me on a lot of miles.  It is hard to believe that on January 1st I was just taking my first step on this incredible journey.  On June 29th I will be taking the last 140.6 miles.

Leave a Reply

