Week twenty-nine to thirty-seven. July 14-September 14, 2014 – I am ready for Maryland

It has been 8 weeks since my last blog post. Wow how time flies when you are having fun. So what have I been doing since my DNF you ask? Well I went to the Bahamas on a 14 day sailing trip (fun as hell),

photo 4photo 1-1photo 2-1DSC_0530

went to NYC for a triathlon (and it was a blast of a race),

photo 1

It’s all about the medal

photo 2

Leo and me

went back to the Bahamas for work, then I went to NJ for a wedding of my very good friend Shefalee (best time ever and even met a triathlete)

photome and shef

The beautiful bride Shefalee and me

and have been training for Ironman Maryland.   The training has been hard since I have been traveling and my CDA training buddies (Joe, Leo and Kristin) are on the “I do not want to wake up early” mode. Seriously I do not blame them but I will say that they have been really good about at least meeting me for part of my bike and run. In addition to them trying to meet me, Joe sent me a very frank pep talk email where he basically told me that I needed to get my shit together on the bike if I wanted to finish IM Maryland. I had been pretty much riding alone and wasn’t making any progress so the last few weeks I have been riding with some other Aliens and that has actually been great. David, Efrain, Joaquin, Ernesto and Otto have pushed the hell out of me and in 3 weeks I went from an average speed of 14.5mph to 16.89mph. That is some serious improvement. Also for some reason my running has been great. I even ran a 7:40 mile on test day. I have never done that. I have also been in regular contact with coach Andy. Here are some of his messages.

photo 3photo 2photo 1

Until today he has been more confident   about me finishing than me. It feels good to finally agree with him.

I have also been working on getting my business off the ground. I had not been too organized in my accounting so one day I sat down and caught up. The bad news is that I had a lot of money out there. The good news is that I am on target to meet my goal for my first year. My goal was to make a certain amount and then have enough money in the bank to cover 3 months of the company expenses. I have the 3 months covered so now I just have to generate enough revenue to meet the amount. I am more than half way there and things are picking up so I am very happy about that.

The other project I have been up to is getting ready for the floor replacement. Total pain in the butt and I am going to have to move out. So I have been avoiding that like the plague. I cannot wait until that is done. I have scheduled the work after IM Maryland for obvious reasons.

Between all that I have been getting to know some IM Maryland athletes through Facebook. It is nice to know you are not alone in the fears that come with taking on such a challenge. It is also nice to know that there are people out there who are just as crazy and to find people who are just plain funny. One of the girls made up some temporary tattoos and I can’t wait to see people out on the course with them. It is our special group.

Ironman Maryland will not be the same as CDA; I saw so many teammates on the course. There is only one other team member racing IMMD so it will feel very lonely on the course. I am going to have to dig deep to keep moving forward. I am going to have to remember all the words that my teammates have said to me the last 2 months. They want this for me as much as I want it so I am going to think of them when the course gets tough. I am also going to think about my family that will be there to watch me. It is a long day for them as well and I certainly do not want to come up short. My Mom said tonight “I am not coming to any more races so you better finish”. Ok that is some kind of motivation.

Quote for the week is exactly right on. It’s funny when I go look for my quotes I always end up on different web pages and no matter what the right one just shows up. It is the quickest part of my blog.

“You may have to fight a battle more than once to win it.”Margaret Thatcher

Leave a Reply

